MCO Chamber Series – Kerry and Mozart Quintets
Thursday, August 18, 7:00PM

With more than 200 years and 15,000 kilometres between them, it’s perhaps not surprising that the two string quintets that make up this concert offer an intriguing chance to “compare and contrast”.

Victorian composer Gordon Kerry writes some of the most exciting and unique music in Australia today. His bright, prismatic String Quintet No 1 won Instrumental Work of the Year in the 2013 APRA AMCOS Awards.

As Mozart wrote his fourth quintet in 1787, he was at the height of his fame, and less than five years from his early death. It’s a searching work filled with touching pathos, which dissolves into effervescent rapture in the finale.


Members of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra


Kerry – String Quintet No. 1

Mozart – String Quintet in G Minor K516

Thursday, August 18, 7:00PM

60 minutes

The Athenaeum 2
188 Collins St, Melbourne